Puppy Love.

i-am-the-kind-of-person-who-says-hi-to-20796184He looked up at her every now and then. She barely noticed him. Or so he thought. He stole glances, hoping she’d smile just for him. But then he’d look away the moment their eyes met. And curse himself mentally the next second for not having held his gaze. “Woof,” he said, soft enough to have reached no one beyond his tail’s reach. But she heard him! She turned and walked towards him. Picking him up from his litter of nine, she held him up and close, rubbing her nose into his face. “I want this one, Daddy!” she called out, rushing over to the other end of the store, holding him in her plump seven year old arms, her red and white cotton frock rubbing against his two month old skin.

‘Man’s best friend’ they called him. She would be his, though. He knew it already.

Graciously Yours!

In dedication to all dogs I've said hi to! You're the unconditional love people claim doesn't exist. 

Polo, hope you are resting in peace. You were my first.

 

9 thoughts on “Puppy Love.”

  1. Though its written in third person’s POF, it reminded me of my wish of writing from the animal’s point of view. Nicely written Adic (sorry, I couldn’t find your good name despite of spending an hour searching through the pages on blog one night ;)) On separate note, I like dogs too but from the safe distance. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So what are you doing about your wish?

      The name is Aditi. So if you couldn’t find it on the website, it’s because I chose it that way. 🙂

      Hahhaha! I like them at proximity too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is very sweet. I thought it would be a post about young love, but when I figured out what you were writing, it made me smile more. Thank you very much for writing this. It was a pleasure to read it.

    – Locke Dor

    Liked by 1 person

Your turn now. Type away!

