The Web That Killed.

Image0629

While the Sun marked the end of its journey for the day, colours vermillion, saffron, magenta and plum painted the skies turn by turn until the deep blues and blacks took over. Such untarnished beauty did not for once in my life pleasure me. I had lived multiple lives till I met you. I was what the police called a conman. Doctors preferred compulsive liar. The other conmen revered me as an enemy. There were no friends in my business.


Like it happens every once in a while, I met my match in you. You were my glimmer of hope. I could see myself changing, living happier and for once in my sorry life I was dying to be a one-woman man. You made me want to give up everything just to be with you. And the one person I was ready to give up everything for had to be pushed away. My lies had caught up with me finally. I was getting sucked in a web so deep that shivers would run up even a spider’s spine. And the cost I would have to pay would be my life, if nothing more.


I lied to you for the very first time today and also my life’s last. I could imagine the swirling winds of anger inside you. There was a lot you wanted to say. Your eyes gave you away. They smouldered but you said nothing. I broke your heart to pieces but you didn’t say a word. I know not whether it was your love that held you back from lashing out hatred at me or if I was not even worth hating anymore. And I guess I will never know.


As those bullets pierced through my body, your face flashed before my eyes and each lingering kiss felt closer and dearer than ever before.
I died loving you so you could live hating me.


Graciously Yours!


20 thoughts on “The Web That Killed.”

    1. Oh Aaliyah! Thank you so much 🙂 I pray you won’t have to say that to anyone, but yes I loved the vividity too as soon as the words slipped out of my pen! I felt like a mini author 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha don’t mind me. I have, what one would call, morbid sarcastic humour. Mum hates it too coz I use my impending death to blackmail the family 😛 You are sweet azz.
        You are already an excellent writer . Especially your 6 word story thingy will be big in the future coz ain’t nobody got time to read novels in the futuristic technology distopia 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Now now! Morbid, humour, sarcasm – all in one? That’s one hell of a package 😉
        Aww thank you so much! I am trying to finish writing enough for a collection of short stories. Time seems to be slipping away very fast.

        Liked by 1 person

Your turn now. Type away!

