Seeing me in you.

Looking into your eyes,

I lose myself in their depths,

My hands in yours,

Seem to melt all my troubles away.

Fingers entwined, feet in sync,

I can take the world head on,

Your faith in me,

Is much more than my trust in myself.

Taking you up in my arms,

Kissing your cheeks as I hear you giggle,

My dear little daughter,

It’s the sweetest sound to my ears.

When I look back into the past,

To not have heeded toΒ your father,

I feel absolutely blessed,

You’re nothing less than God’s gift to me.

 

Sketched by - Graciously Yours!
Sketched by – Graciously Yours!

All those mothers who fought to keep their girl child alive whether as single mothers or fighting against their families β€”Β You rock!

Graciously Yours!

49 thoughts on “Seeing me in you.”

      1. ❀️. Sweet thing for you to say, but I was a strict mom. No dating until age 16. No ear piercing until middle school. No car until their first year of college. Chores galore, allowances if they earned them and get this one…no computer use unless it was in the family room and no cell phones until their Senior year. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh! Well, at the end of the day your kids have turned out well πŸ˜‰ you might just see your daughters doing the same thing to their kids! And then they’ll thank you. I hope my mother doesn’t read this! She’ll gloat all day long. She’s strict too and I’m always trying to circumvent her rules! πŸ˜‰ She doesn’t mind too much these days though. She’s starting to trust my decisions. But yes, no dating allowed yet! Indian society and its rules!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Always be proud of your heritage. Celebrate your culture. We moms always want the very best for our children. We want their lives to be better than the ones we knew. I’ll bet you have a wonderful mother.

        Liked by 2 people

Your turn now. Type away!

