Diwali Post!

There are more than a couple of reasons why I am writing this post :

Firstly, to wish you all a really happy Diwali! It is an age old Indian festival depicting ‘good wins over evil’, traditionally celebrated as the Festival of Lights all over the country (which unfortunately, over the years has become more of festival of sounds with all the lights from the fireworks only adorning the skies.)

Secondly, my mother is not at home and this is the prefect opportunity to take a break because once she’s back with the flowers and all, the entire house needs to be decorated for the puja in the evening! (I’ll put up the photographs for y’all tonight!)

Thirdly and most importantly, Caesar (due credit to VJ for coming up with the name) is missing! That, below there, is Caesar!

Caesar

And when I say missing, I mean, this soft toy of a monkey which was sitting at the dining table at 2 am in the morning before I went to sleep, is missing from our home when I looked for it at 11 am today! It is not there. Not in the rooms. Not in the kitchen. Not in the balcony. Not in the washrooms. Not even in the cupboards and windows!

Which leaves me perplexed! And scared. I knew I should never have watched horror movies! Specially those with walking and talking dolls! Yikes!

Can a soft toy get up and walk out to celebrate Diwali? Considering we’re not bursting crackers this year at all to reduce some of our carbon footprint, did it get attracted to the fireworks-lit skies and decided to go for a stroll outside and lost his way back home? Or did not want to come back home?

Or did my granny hide it in some unchecked nook or crevice of our home just to get back at me for having scared her by placing the monkey near her last week when she was sleeping?

Or did my mother give it for dry cleaning and is not telling me because she is enjoying my bewildered, perplexed, puzzled, shaken reactions?

The last one makes most sense, but then where’s the fun in that!

Happy Diwali to everyone! May every day of your life see good winning over evil.

Graciously Yours!

P.S.: Where do you think Caesar is?

7 thoughts on “Diwali Post!”

Your turn now. Type away!

