Life Notes #4.

Bus stops at the crossroad. Its raining heavily. The roads are waterlogged.

I got down the bus, gingerly stepping into the mid-calf length muddy waters on the road, one foot firmly following the other. I barely opened my umbrella when I realized that one of my slippers was off my feet and was floating into the water. I looked down at the floating slipper and when I looked up again (cursing, obviously), I could see that the traffic from the opposite lane had been opened. I had less than 30 seconds to get my slipper back and out of harm’s way! Flopping around on one foot with the umbrella in one hand and my handbag slipping from the other shoulder, I picked up the floating slipper and almost hobbled across to the footpath! Relief would be a tiny word to be used to describe that moment!

Note to self : Next time, if someone says to you that the monsoons landed them in a compromising situation on the roads of India, do NOT laugh. ‘Cuz, life, dear girl, is a circle. A viciously sadistic circle!

Graciously Yours!

5 thoughts on “Life Notes #4.”

Your turn now. Type away!

