And it soared away…

4:48 pm.

Deserve a break!

After drowning myself in two long hours of Indian Company Law, I sat by the bed, looking out into the dusk sky, which had emptied its hydrants just a while back. In the fag end of March. Rare and unusual but nevertheless a relief from the mild but humid heat. Sitting atop one of the buildings was one of the aerial residents of my neighboring airspace – the city eagle. I am not well versed in ornithology, and I am sure it isn’t an eagle, but yes, it reminds me of one, because of its brown hues, wing span and the way it flies around almost as if it was to swoop down on you. So for me – city eagle. Now, I know this one has a spouse, or whatever the bird terminology of spouse is. And there it was sitting alone, making bird noises. Like really loud, attention-grabbing bird noises. And I was wondering where the other one was! Not in sight! Not flying out to this one! Strange! They always fly together, sometimes at each other too. (Oh yeah, this deemed house arrest, thanks to my upcoming major exam, has led me to keep a close watch on everyone’s actions around me!)

Back to the cries. They seemed like cries to me! Did they have a fight? Was the other one angry? Had the thunderstorm and high speed winds injured the other one? This one wasn’t able to locate the other one? Had the other one left? Or was it just some new found game of theirs? I got up. Started looking out to see if there was even a hint of a brown speck swooping down from some corner of the sky. The crows seemed to be coming nearer to the eagle. Was it a sign of something ominous? Were they trying to comfort the bird? Had something happened?

My phone vibrated. “We cannot meet tomorrow, babe. Urgent work came up. Sorry! I’ll call you tonight.” Tell me something new, I thought. And that was the other one I had.

I looked up and I saw the bird preparing to take flight.

And it soared away…

Maybe, I’ll see them both together tomorrow. Maybe, someone will meet their other one tomorrow.

4:59 pm.

Break over.

Graciously Yours!

Your turn now. Type away!

